Astor House

Believe it or not,  this is our hotel in Shanghai.  It's an old colonial hotel with an amazing history.  Albert Einstein, Charlie Chaplin, Noel Coward & Bertrand Russell stayed here as well as loads of other well known people that I have forgotten.  The place is steeped in history and was the first place in China to have an electric lamppost.

It's our final day before we fly home tomorrow.  We went to a couple of river villages which were interesting.

I know Jane will tell you so I had better own up here first.  I was admiring a rather nice (and rather expensive) tea pot when the lid fell on the floor and broke in two.   I therefore had to buy it (broken lid and all).  It's lucky I liked it.  I think the lid will repair invisibly but nonetheless it's a shame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.