RedDevil

By RedDevil

Wildlife entertainment..... WildWed6

This is bird is not always popular, it’s a Noisy Miner (honey eater family and an Australian native), found in woodlands and open forests, but also a common sight in suburban gardens.  (BTW, It's not in any way connected to the introduced feral Indian Mynah one of the world’s most invasive species).

The Noisy Miner is quite a bold bird, feeding on the nectar of flowers, fruits and an adept inflight feeder of insects….. fabulous to watch.

I believe its proliferation has increased recently due to the increase in planting of nectar producing plants and trees in suburban gardens (I'm probably guilty of that!).

It can be a very aggressive bird and maybe the reason we don’t have many of the smaller birds in our garden and as a result, I have heard plans that they may cull them.......  Having said that I saw a flock of wrens frolicking at the end of our street….. that’s the first time I’ve seen wrens locally...... yippee! maybe we're seeing nature sort out the balance! 

I rather enjoy its song and endless antics foraging for nectar... wildlife entertainment!
 
 
 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.