briocarioca

By briocarioca

Waiting

... for a visit. While I was preparing lunch, a banana quit came right into the yard to visit this Schlumbergera truncata – and where was the camera? Outside, in the full sun, right next to the plant pot.  Hopes that the he’ll return when I’m better prepared haven’t yet materialized, but maybe tomorrow…
 
We know this plant as May Flower (Flor de Maio), and it’s endemic to certain areas here in southeastern Brazil. According to Wikipedia, here, it’s a false Christmas cactus. It had opened right out this morning. I love the saucy little pink pompom – sorry, maybe it's the anther - on the end of the style.
 
Posting early today as I need the remaining time before choir to clear up my office. It won’t long enough …..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.