kevinmcc

By kevinmcc

Ketchup for Grownups

Consider this bottle of "The Original Australian Tomato Ketchup for Grownups."

On the far left side of the label, it says "Packed for: Original Australian BBQ Food Company, Sydney NSW Australia." It looked like it might have potential, so I purchased a bottle.

After all, it must be the "real" thing, as the website listed on the bottle says "www.aussiebbq.com" Remember the two words in the previous paragraph... "packed for?"

If you click on the aussiebbq.com link, you will be surprised when you find the link takes you to the website for "Food Imagineering", a company based near San Francisco, California. They appear to do custom bottling for all sorts of food companies.

I'm no chef by any means. My wife can run circles around me any day in the kitchen :) But I'm a sucker for various condiments and other interesting food items that I find. Hopefully it will be just as good as the label seems to imply.

I hold no hard feelings, it's a cute label, and it is all about marketing :)

A postscript to this blip from Jul 22rd. I talked to Garry Sullivan, owner of Food Imagineering, and turns out the product is quite "real."

The reason for bottling in the US is because of transportation costs and import taxes. The recipe comes from one of his companies in Australia, and it sounds like he is also in the restaurant business. Garry told me he spends half the year in the US and the other half in Australia. Must be nice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.