Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Bus ride to dereliction

I was in Keighley today; it's where I went to school, at the top of the street shown, under an imposing clock tower. The clock tower is no more; my old school (Keighley Boys' Grammar School) is no more - though the building, looking almost derelict, is still there; Cavendish Street is no more the vibrant main shopping thoroughfare with a delightful tea shop where I was taken for tea now and then by my grandmother. Just a sad, run-down collection of empty properties, charity shops, Vape places - all summed up in the state of the Victoria Hotel where I spent many happy after-school hours as it was run by the parents of a school friend. So typical of many previously attractive urban settlements since they came under the 'care' of the grotesque, giant Bradford Metropolitan Borough Council.
I had a hospital appointment, to be taught to do something for myself which will hopefully prevent another agonising ambulance ride to A&E sometime in the future.
Both my vehicles playing up so I went on train and bus, thanks to advice from blipper mambo. It's a great ride from Ilkley to Steeton; I've done the journey many times but you see so much more of the lovely countryside when not driving, and even interesting old parts of towns like Silsden when the bus makes a detour from the main route.
I must at some time soon go back and shoot my old school, which I passed in the bus, for Derelict Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.