Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Busy, busy day

A good day despite continuing vehicle problems and a busy, busy day. I like busy days when I can move!
I was getting on well early morning with catching up on blipfoto browsing and comments, stretching back to 6 May, when we had a power cut. By the time the current came back on I had to move to other things.
Best news of the day came on the phone at about 9am: the MRI scan was clear. "We'd have had you in the same day if it hadn't been", I was told. So it seems the back pain which brought me to a halt on Saturday, and not much better for the two days since, is not linked to a bigger problem. The new GP, a delightful French lady who I managed to see within four hours (now that is amazing!), is arranging physio and gave me a hoard of paracetamol.
This brings me to the blip. It's a brâu, a leather belt worn by Romanians working on the land to protect their back (I think weight lifters here wear something similar). I bought it last year from the craftsman who made it, Alexandru (first extra) - if I'd been a blipper then, for sure he would have been blipped. I've been wearing the brâu all day and the back certainly feels better. 
The hand-woven carpet it is on, from the Bucovina in Romania, is over 100 years old and was given to us by my Godfather (naČ™) - what we would call best man. It brightens our living room, covering much of the floor.
The wooden bowl I used as a prop was made by Nicolae Popa, the most famous mask-maker in Romania when he was alive. He gave it to us when we visited him on our honeymoon in 2000.
I said a busy day. I've been asked to do some before and after photos of some improvements to be made to the memorial garden for the 2,861 'inmates' of the West Yorkshire Paupers' Lunatic Asylum (I cringe when I write that) who are buried there. I went to the site to meet the man who is organising the improvement works, so I know what to photograph. For part, some special needs teenage students from our local high school, St Mary's Menston, will do the work . I've roped in Petronela to do some of the 'after' flower shots over the next year or so and possibly some of the SEN students working; she seems to form a special bond with the SEN students in her school.
I've blipped the 'hospital' clock tower before. But long before becoming a blipper, on a cold and frosty morning, it brought to mind the 2,861 and I wrote a haiku to accompany a picture I took from our living room window (2nd extra) for the blog I did then. I thought I'd reproduce it here:

madness frozen out
bones interred together    warmed
peace    buds in waiting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.