It's That Time of the Month

If you thought for one moment you had escaped the annual LadyFindhorn cherry blossom bonanza, I'm afraid to disappoint you. The frou frou extravaganza of pink loveliness crossing the Meadow on three paths visible from the Dower House is difficult to ignore, especially with a solid blue sky as a backdrop.
Thirty Nine years ago I sat with a new baby son in a balcony ward of the old Simpson Maternity Pavilion, looking out over a sea of this very same pink froth, and now I am able to do it from a lower level just along the way in the Dower House.

His Lordship and I walked under arches of blossom on our way to Bruntsfield this morning. The sun may have been shining out of a cloudless blue sky, but my decision to leave my scarf behind was a mistake given the stiff east wind whistling round my neck on the way there and the full frontal onslaught on the way home.

Today my boys both have birthdays, #1 in Elgin and #2 in Budapest. With wives, partners and children, no longer am I central to their day, but even if there is no cake with candles lit in the Dower House, there is still a Skype call and a telephone call to be made later. A happy Birthday to Alasdair and David...... time marches on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.