Bye Bye Boneshaker?

I'm rubbish with dates but I know that in 2001, Rich and I bought our first road bikes because the foot and mouth crisis had set in. It was stopping us heading into the hills so we needed to find something else to do.  When the mountains opened up again, we'd become quite hooked on cycling but it never became our main sport.

We've enjoyed some superb tours and day trips since then but in 2009 (that's a date from Rich!), we took on Little Dog.  I did a cycling tour with some friends almost as soon as we got her and then I don't think I got back on my bike; I'd rather be out with CJ in the hills.

But then my knees started playing up big time a couple of years ago.

With a few recommendations to start pedalling again, I started heading out.  Although I wasn't feeling bike fit at all, I was enjoying being able to burn off some energy without having to come back and lean on the wall to get down the stairs.

So, 18 months on and a fair few miles under my wheels (zero in the way of speed records), I've become more hooked on cycling than ever although haven't done any touring, mainly due to Little Dog. I think the memories of being in the middle of the Dales though (along with Blipping motivators) has spurred me on to cycle further in one day.  I don't think I'd done more than 60 miles in the past and that was on the flat - once.

15 years later, one and a half years of getting back into it and a few months of drooling in the bike shop, Rich has finally convinced me that it's time for me to move on from my boneshaker, sofa saddle and 11kg of a bike, steeped in history and memories.

Today I went out for a test drive!

I was quite nervous.  It's the first time I've been on any other road bike.  I knew it would feel very different and I didn't want to topple off on someone else's pride and joy.

I had only three requirements:

1.  Gears need to be at least equally good to get me up hills.
2.  Lighter bike
3.  Not pink nor white - just not me

The only thing to do was to try it out on the home hills.  I got my head around the new style gear levers on the way to Addingham but was already enjoying the more upright seating position - I think my shoulders are going to love me.  

But could I get up Langbar?

Well, I wasn't sure at first as the riding position wasn't yet the norm.  But, by the second steep part, I knew it was the bike for me!  

No need for zig-zagging.  
No feeling like I was dragging a great beast up behind me.

So I swooped up and down all the local hills.  Askwith to the reservoirs, up to Norwood, back through Otley, up Ben Rhydding, up to the Cow & Calf and home for lunch.  I then headed out again to Otley, up the hill there, back down to Askwith and returned to the bike shop.  A proper test!

It all felt remarkably easy and, by this time, it felt like my bike.

So, I'm now hours from taking the plunge!

Rich is worried that I'm going to be the new Speed Goddess.  This won't happen!  I'm worried that I'm going to become lazy being able to travel at the same speed with far less effort!

But, I'm very excited!

Oh, and the 2016 model is...

BLUE!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.