Castlerigg 05:59

Wendy and I (yes two Wendys on this Photographic Holiday!) were up at 04.30 this morning and at Castlerigg Stone Circle by 5am.  We both took an awful lot of blips of the fabulous sunrise but we had blinked out the circle so that was a steep learning curve.  However, once the colours had gone through we took some much better photographs in the golden hour light.  I liked this one from my go-pro because the fish-eye shows the whole circle.  I took it along to the evening session as part of my selection for John to critique and he pulled out the detail giving me this!  I really do need to dig out my photoshop for dummies - all this data is in there but I'm not utilising it!

We have spent the day amongst the stunning Rannerdale bluebells.  After trying out multiple exposure shots on the stream I set off up the fell (I was told off earlier in the week when I asked if I could go up Loughrigg and John asked me if I was on a walking or a photographic holiday, oops!) to try and blip the gorgeous sweep of purple down the dale.  I had just captured a rather nice dry stone wall sweeping down to Crummock Water when who should appear below me but trevorearthy, out and about on his 2000th blipbirthday and come looking for me.  We had a smashing walk through the bluebells and a catch up, then parted with the hope of having a blipmeet before too long. How lovely was that?

I'm never going to be using grads and filters and stoppers and stuff but I have certainly learned a great deal about improving my blips in the camera this week, and now I just need to learn how to make the best of the photos I have taken in processing.  Now it's nearly midnight and a long time since 4.30am so time for bed with the prospect of more fun across at Ullswater tomorrow on the last day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.