Good as Gold

That is the name of the business which now occupies the shop in this old building on the corner of Ponsonby Road and Williamson Avenue. They assert that they are stockists of the "World's top brands" of fashion and streetwear. It saddens me that quality is no longer a selling point; what matters now is being one of the world's top brands. 

Says who? And on what basis? 

On the left, with slightly less bright lights inside, is a Junk and antique shop known as Flotsam and Jetsam. For as long as I can remember, this building has housed an antique shop in one or both of the two retail spaces facing Ponsonby Road. Over the years, we have bought a number of items from the predescessors of Flotsam and Jetsam, including Lord Ponsonby's, the name which still applies to the whole building, it would seem.

The tui which featured in my blip the other day, was back in the same tree again as I left late this evening after a long day which has involved a lot of intense concentration.

The sun this morning was in the perfect position as I crossed the Harbour Bridge; the full golden orb sitting neatly in the dip of the summit of Rangitoto. I will have to remember it as there was no way I could stop the car to record it with my camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.