Fathers & Sons

In his acceptance speech this afternoon after being elected the Presiding Officer for the 5th Session of the Scottish Parliament, Ken MacIntosh talked about his late father, Dr Farquhar Macintosh whom I remember when he was Rector of the Royal High and Chair of the Scottish Examination Board.

I was also thinking of my own father today, who died in 1994, as I was wearing for my oath taking - as I think I have worn on each occasion I have been sworn in as an MSP - a pair of cuff links that belonged to him. They are one of the very few tangible physical links I have to him and I treasure them.

He never saw me in the Parliament nor as a Minister and he was always very sardonic about politics and politicians. But I think he would have been , in his own way, pleased at how things have turned out as he was a party member at one stage (though he didn't like political parties at all.)

Oath taking is very much a family affair, with each member able to invite guests. Unfortunately because Cathleen is working on the other side of the country she couldn't come. It is also a day for dressing up, as the pictures in the press will show .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.