We're In Your Gardens, Loving Your Bunnies

It is an extraordinarily GREEN time in the Arboretum's lovely gardens, and we are all enjoying the show. Some of us simply like to LOOK at the greens, while others . . . well, others simply want to EAT them!

I strolled through the gardens on this morning, taking one more look at the tulips, and hoping to encounter my little gray buddy Scout, the Arboretum cat. (Scout is also a big fan of the garden's greens.) But Scout wasn't available; no, he wasn't taking any calls.

As I rounded a corner in the pollinator gardens, I caught sight of a cinnamon colored scruff among the brand new red and yellow columbine blooms - I recognized it instantly to be the back of the neck of a wild eastern cottontail!

The bun seemed to be standing up on its two hind legs when I first saw it, but then it went flat down onto the ground. Then back up on four legs. Then again, standing on two!

It had a good, long nibble of the tasty, green grasses. Then it hopped across the path and - FLOOMP! - it flopped heavily, its bunny-butt looking so cute. Then it was up again,  hanging out by the lilac bushes. It was in the middle of a little bath and I got a glimpse of its tiny pink tongue as I finally strolled away.

The rabbit spent more time periscoping - that is, standing up on its two hind legs - than any rabbit I've met lately! And so the song to accompany this image is Sugarland, with Stand Up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.