My First Perennial Foray...

Dear Diary,

I made my first foray to area nurseries to buy perennials for the two gardens that need planting.  I just focused on the studio garden today and checked out a new nursery in a nearby town.  Nature's Way Greenery was recommended by a friend who has a wonderful garden and who will also be on the garden tour next month.

A picked up about a dozen plants but she didn't have my favorite Catmint or Rubeckia.  I will have to find them at one of my stand-by nurseries.  I was pleased with the quality and price here though so I am sure to return.

Picking out perennials is such a fun part of the gardening process.  I hired a new garden "assistant" yesterday so he will come next Friday to begin work preparing the beds and helping me plant.  I feel I am beginning to see real progress now.

We are supposed to get some much needed rain tonight  and it is supposed to be over early morning so it shouldn't interfere with my volunteer work at the Shaker Village.  It is spring clean-up and we will all be working to make the village ready for the swarms of summer visitors.  I will be posting late tomorrow so I can share some images of one of my favorite places in Maine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.