The Joy of a Front Porch

Dear Diary,

Finally, I can sit on my little porch in the late afternoon with a glass of wine and enjoy the sunset!  David re-painted my porch rocker, which it sorely needed.  Porches are one of those relics from another time that I think people should return to. 


...the good ol' American front porch seems to stand for positivity and openness; a platform from which to welcome or wave farewell; a place where things of significance could happen. - Dan Stevens

Today we tend to live in our backyards secluded from the world and there is certainly a need for that.  But there is a wonderful receptivity about the front porch.  My extra photo today is of an old sampler my mother stitched 60 years ago.  It always hung by our front door and it hangs by mine today.  Its saying sort of sums up today's post in the beautiful way old samplers can:

Let me live in a house by the side of the road and be a friend to man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.