Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Old Friends #2

It's the WEEKEND!!!

Warning: This blip is to record an incredibly fantastic evening spent in the company of old friends!

Some of the people in this picture have known me since I was 20! That was quite a long time ago! We know each other because we all went to the same church - Holy Trinity in Dubai, but as I found out last night, we all come from different church backgrounds - Lutheran, Church of South India, Marthoma, Church of North India, Salvation Army and Anglican!

The other thing I couldn't help remembering was that of all the families that were there, all of them had kids who had been in the Pathfinders group that G ran and I helped with! Some real history there!

We had a really lovely evening just chatting and then it was mentioned that George (top right) had a guitar in his car... Well, George and his wife Shashi (whose honour this dinner was in as they are leaving Dubai) are well known for their singing and leading worship, and they very kindly obliged... so out came the guitar and . . . Mission Praise books!!! Incredible!

I haven't sung from those in the longest time - not that I need a book - I can remember the words! But the funniest thing was when someone asked for a song as a number... I haven't heard that done in over a decade!! I'm not sure if it was good or bad that I could still remember which song the number referred to!!

George did a grand job of remembering all the chords without needing a music book (I couldn't do that!) and we couldn't help switching over to some classics by Simon & Garfunkel! The evening finished much later than I thought it would, but no-one noticed the time. Well, maybe George. He needs his beauty sleep!!! ;)

And at lunch time, I took colleague Janet out to lunch for her birthday. Her first time to McGettigan's and trying Eton Mess!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.