Brocket Hall

Today I was making a presentation to a U3A Photography group.   My brief was a little imprecise, but I understood that the members wanted guidance on how to use the various controls on their cameras, and some tuition on composition.

Many of the group brought their cameras with them - ranging from a film SLR (an old Pentax Spotmatic, which brought back wonderful memories of my youth) via a DSLR and CSC through various bridge cameras to compact travel zooms.  With such a range of cameras, it wasn't possible to give detailed guidance, but I talked a little about the advantages of moving away from Automatic or Programme mode, discussing the control of depth of field through choice of aperture, and depicting motion via control of shutter speed.  I had prepared a  number of Powerpoint presentations dealing with different aspects of camera operation, but the majority of the time was actually taken up discussing how to achieve a successful and pleasing composition.  The group seemed to like what I gave them.

On the way home I stopped to take some pictures, including this one of the impressive entrance gates and view of the Grade 1 listed Brocket Hall, built in the mid 18th Century.  I don't believe these gates are ever used now, and there is an alternative entrance further along the main road passing by, as well as a separate entrance to the golf and country club on the estate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.