Deflated.

They day had started out so well. A cold, but sunny day promised the joys of a Solstice Triathlon recce. That adjusted itself slightly when Kathy messaged me to say that swimming was out for her, so we agreed to liaise at Loanhead and wait for Graeme and then do the ride/run. We set off with shoes in bags and hope in our hearts. A lovely trail from Kathy's place to the middle part of the bike leg at Glencorse Reservoir beckoned (I must rememeber that route) and we bumped into a hobbling Sally Best with blistered feet. She's on the running rise after becoming a mum and was smiling as only she can do. We set off over Maiden's Cleuch with Graeme setting a good pace and eventually found ourselves at the race start/transition itself. At this point we decided that it was too nice on the bikes and did the run leg on them instead of running (it felt much easier - funny that). After the obligatory selfie we carried on through the bike leg through just north of Green Cleuch where my downward spiral for the day began. I punctured flying over some sharp rocks and my back tyre went down pretty quickly. I (naturally) didn't have a tube with me so Graeme tried one of his (he has 27.5 wheels, mine are 29s) but it seemed to fit. Next problem was that, since factory fitting, I haven't had a puncture on those tyres. Ever. So they were unfeasibly tight trying to get back on. Ever super-Graeme couldn't manage so I resorted to levers, which resulted in another puncture. Bah. We decided that I would trudge back to Flotterstone with the bike while they carried on back to Loanhead, got the car and rescued me. It was going to take a while.... As I wandered down the road like a lost soul I was cheered up (ha!) even further by an email from Strava telling me that I'd lost the CR on a hard-fought segment in Spain from last summer to someone called David. Well sod him and his fast legs. By the time I was passed by the 6th or 7th rambler asking 'Aw, do you have a puncture?' I decided to answer 'Nah, I just prefer, when the sun's out, walking beside my bike rather than riding it. Y'know?' I eventually made it to Kathy and Graeme at Flotty (after explaining to Mrs L why I wouldn't be joining her and the kids at the gym) and we drove to my place. Where I discovered that Mrs L had locked the garage. With my keys in it. So I waved goodbye to K & G, went to M & S and bought a pasta salad and forgot to get a fork. So had to sit on the doorstep and scoop cold pasta down my gullet with my fingers. Then fell asleep on the doorstep and was kicked awake by Mrs L an hour later. Children, if you're reading this: ALWAYS TAKE A FUCKING INNER TUBE AND PUMP WITH YOU.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.