Seven Stations In One Day! Yes, Seven!!

Car + train + train + bus + tube train + train + train + car = 6 1/2 hours door to door! But I made it safely home!!

Train from Ely to Cambridge – fine

Train from Cambridge to London Liverpool Street – fine

Bus from Liverpool Street to Paddington – nightmare! Two buses didn’t show, and once on the bus, the traffic came to a complete standstill, it took half an hour to travel two stops!! I had allowed plenty of time to make the journey across London but with the traffic the way it was, I knew I wouldn’t make my next train so I jumped off the bus and…

Tube train from Blackfriars to Paddington – once I was on the tube, all was fine, but I had had to ask two people for directions to the nearest tube station. The first person sent me off on a wild goose chase, the second person sent me back to where I’d started my quest! But at least I found Blackfriars in the end. Travelling with a large and heavy case isn’t much fun on the tube though!!

Train from Paddington to Bath – even with swapping from the bus to the underground, I only managed to get to the train with one minute to spare! Thankfully a very nice Policeman took pity on me and helped me on board with my case, by this time I think I must have looked a pitiful wreck!!

Train from Bath to my local station – arrived in Bath in what can only be described as monsoon rain! Station staff were running around with mops and buckets as the station office was 2” underwater. And the rain was no better when I reached my final stop. By the time I reached home, my case and rucksack were sodden and everything inside was damp. I was lucky to make it though, as only half an hour later, trains travelling west from Swindon were either cancelled or delayed as the train track was underwater!!

I think that’s the quickest I’ve managed to do the journey so far, but it was also the most stressful! I won’t be taking that route again!! (Have switched the order of Blackfriars and Paddington stations in the collage. Even with one minute to make my train at Paddington, I still stopped for a blip! What dedication is that? Or should that be madness?!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.