Not much to smile about!

I popped to the walk in centre this morning as I was still having foot trouble. It turns out I have extensor tendonitis - in other words the tendons leading to my toes have become all inflamed! So I have to rest with my foot up for three days to get it to calm down and then shouldn't do any serious walking for 4-6 weeks! I am going stir crazy just thinking about it. And typical timing just when the weather turns for the better. Perhaps I should have expected it on Friday 13th!

I wore a new pair of shoes last weekend and they had a band of thick elastic across the foot and my foot was achey across the top because the elastic was quite firm. Apparently compressing your foot (usually through pulling laces too tight) is one of the triggers so it may be those shoes were to blame. I'll have to stretch that elastic or maybe just bin the shoes! I haven't walked any more or anywhere different from usual so don't think anything else can have set it off.

Ah well, will just have to console myself with books and crafty activities that I can do with my feet up. I am not looking forward to weeks without serious stepping but the Dr warned that it won't clear up quickly or properly unless you give it a real rest so I'll have to be good! Don't want to have to give up plodding for good!

Goodness knows what I will do for blips without the great outdoors to explore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.