Swinging The Prop

I went to a vintage flying display at Stow Maries Great War Aerodrome today and was so glad I took my scruffy but warm clothes with me, it was absolutely freezing. Nothing much happened at first. I sat at one of those wooden, combined chair and table contraptions and when I was joined by two men I shot up into the air. I said to them that it was the first time I had shared a see-saw with a couple of aeroplane spotters. They were the real deal, noted the planes we saw and left before the display to spot more aircraft at Southend, then Heathrow, then Luton.

My pic shows a BE2e having the prop swung. It didn't take too long to get this one going but the Sopwith Snipe that flew last just didn't want to start. In the end one of the ground staff got into the pilot's seat. The diminutive pilot swung the prop and the Bentley rotary engine spluttered into life. I didn't think it sounded too healthy throughout the flight.

I thoroughly enjoyed shooting the planes, I so miss going to flying events at Panshanger airfield which has been sold for housing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.