The Stars and Stripes

A little corner of America in Tollcross; what used to be the 'Two Thin Laddies' café has metamorphosed into an all American Diner and is not taking any prisoners as far as colourful advertising is going.

Our sojourn in the Temple of Toast this morning was enlivened by the presence at a nearby table of Alexander McCall Smith. Needless to say he didn't recognise me or his Lordship even though I sat to his right at a birthday dinner about 12 Years ago.
I seem to be blessed with complete anonymity, (despite my noble moniker), having the sort of instantly forgettable face which could serve well should I become a spy.
It would appear that no one apart from me recognised him either. Perhaps I should send my CV to MI5, I could be of use to them.
And no, I didn't reintroduce myself- a Lady knows when to and how to prevent embarrassment.

I am looking forward to a meeting this afternoon with the redoubtable LeeAnne, my blip daughter, who was the first person to apply for my give away copy of 'the Lost Wife' by Alyson Richmond, the book which I loved but which was down graded by my literature savvy book group.
I am expecting a lively encounter, which may result in some burning ears amongst our mutual acquaintances. Be aware, be very aware!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.