Leiflife

By Leiflife

Greek Dancing At The Gala

It was one of the best Galas ever for The Walter Anderson Museum of Art. The theme this year was The Illiad and The Odyssey. (One of Daddy's great pleasures was drawing along as he read, so there are numerous drawings from this pastime. He could easily relate to adventurers and explorers. Hence my name, which stems from his admiration of Leif Ericsson. There is a marvelous book published by University Press of Mississippi entitled Walter Anderson's Illustration's of Epic and Voyage.)

Olivia drove me this year, as she has for the last three years. Her presence as my date definitely increases my pleasure in the event. This year the Greek dancing also helped. My old friend and former student, CoCo, is a core member (along with her husband, Steve) of the ensemble. Her passion for Greek dancing goes way back, and she spoke lovingly of the Greek community in the area and of the dancing she has so enjoyed. I caught the feeling and ensconced myself on the floor to photograph CoCo and her friends as they danced. Later, she persuaded her old teacher to join her for a little (improvised) Greek dancing. I abandoned myself to the moment; the night was definitely touched with magic. And I had fun! I think everyone did.

Several extras, including one of Livvy and me just before we left for the Gala. And one I especially like of dear CoCo, introducing the group. I thought my tiny little Canon S-100, which I tucked in my bag, did a pretty good job with the existing light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.