Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Winchester Cathedral (again)

After an excellent meal in the Raymond Blanc Brasserie in Winchester last night and a good night's sleep broken only by a burglar alarm going off right outside our hotel room window at 5.30am, we had a good wander around the Cathedral area this morning before checking out of the hotel. The '1818ers' I mentioned two days ago were still there; apparently they are a retirement association for the World Bank based in Washington DC. I'm not sure if I would join in with that sort of thing if the company I worked for had arranged it but it does seem a bit more caring for the employees than the 'thanks for the last 36 years, now **** off' that I got when I retired. We then drove to the nearby Longstock Park Water Garden; I had seen a feature on the gardens in the Spring 'Waitrose Garden' magazine and if you are anywhere nearby I heartily recommend a visit. The gardens are absolutely sublime, beautifully presented and are fed by a stream from the River Test. They are only open on the first and third Sundays of the month from April to September so a visit would need to be carefully planned but well worth it; a beautiful place. I took plenty of pictures there but frankly, they didn't do the place justice so this is a shot from the side of Winchester Cathedral.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.