Deaf and Dump

I had my first meeting today in my new role as Teacher/Statistics Coordinator. I basically get reduced teaching hours to deal with all things statistical for the college. It all started when I made a fancy spreadsheet with buttons on it that when pressed would provide the managers with everything they needed to know about the students and their exam results helping them to place the students appropriately in the college.

The Ministry of Higher Education have started a project to compile statistics on students, finance, staff and resources from all colleges and universities in Oman to enable them to publish the information to the world. My new role is to oversee the implementation of the project within the college and make sure that all the Omanis do what they need to do and do it on time - no easy feat I assure you!

This is a brilliant for me really as it is very similar to what I used to do in the UK (I was a Business Consultant, whatever that means) before leaving it all behind to become a teacher. It therefore gives my CV a bit of continuity and also lets me keep my hand in teaching, which I'm loving at the moment.

Anyway, where was I? Oh yes, the first meeting. I met with a representative from the ministry today and we chatted about the project, drank Omani tea and wished each other 'Eid Mubarak'.

I left with a huge document detailing what I'm to do over the next few months. The information on disabilities caught my eye immediately. Number 3 is a classic example of Omanis mixing up their Ps and Bs, which they do a lot!




-------
Duns, this Blip is dedicated to you! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.