Avocado

I took this to grab that happy moment of cutting into an avocado and finding that it was edible - who knows how many are either rock hard or black and beyond saving? I then reflected on the kind of day it is where cutting into an avocado might represent a high spot.

From here I wondered when avocados became popular in the UK - I'm prepared to bet that it is another product that my gran wouldn't have bought. According to the Interweb the first supermarket to stock them was Sainsbury's in 1962 and I remember using them when I started working in commercial kitchens around 1975 but they were not something we'd often see in Longsight. Now I often pick one up when I go shopping and some of them are edible when I cut them - which takes me back to where I started............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.