horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

50 Shades of Mud

Confessions of a Cyclocross Backmarker

Some thoughts on the Haughcross last night and just what an hour long muddy time trial feels like to a total novice...

My aims had been simple. Last the hour (I honestly wasn't sure this was possible); and don't finish last (even less likely). Off the start the plan was to start at the back, ride my own pace, and if I hapened to be faster than anyone then all the good. Except I inadvertently got ahead of 3 or 4 people off the start, and felt honourbound to at least make them work a little to get ahead of me.

For the first 3 laps or so there was a bit of a ding-dong with 2 other guys - I even managed an audacious outside of the corner pass on one, and the words of McComisky-san, my Bo'ness cyclocross mentor, came to fruition - nail the dismounts and you can save huge amounts of time. That morning I'd looked up some YouTube videos, then in the garden tried it a couple of times, and by eck it was completely natural and quick. Every lap I'd drop back a little from the rider just in front, then at all three of the sets of hurdles make back all of the time.

As a complete beginner, though, I didn't take advantage as, with the door wide open, I worried about darting through and having a coming together etc etc. Not that that would be a problem as after the first 20 minutes, which ticked by remarkably slowly, I realised I was going to have to ease off and finally run at my own pace. The race then became one against myself and various muddy patches.

Most of the course was nicely solid. The earth under the grass was well-drained, and it lead to those sections beihng pretty fast, and the tight corners could be leant into. Most fun was to be had hurtling down the fastest section of the course which ended in a 180 degree turn before some hurdles. I'd unclip the right foot well ahead of time and swing it round to the left side of the bike, the YouTube dismount videos replaying constanly in my head. I'd then intiate a 10-15 yards rear wheel skid, and swing the back end out so that the bike, come the corner, was pointing in the right direction, at which point I'd fling the left foot out of its pedal and plant it to stop that motion, then run up the hurdles. Only once did I almost come a cropper as the back wheel hit a dry/hard patch and pitched me into the foot-plant earlier and faster than anticipated. Stayed upright though.

Although that wasn't the case for the entire race. As early as the second lap I had my expected dismount. Front wheel just decided to go straight on in a wiggly tree-chicane section of the course which was already slippy mud, and which became 6 inches deep as the race went on. That that was my only unplanned dismount is a source of surprise and cheer.

One of my main worries about the race was how to deal with being lapped. I really didn't want to ruin the race of anyone who was actually competing. Nothing to worry about. The course twists and turns making it easy to keep tabs on who is catching you up, and the guys see backmarkers are simply another obstacle that is part of cyclocross. You usually get a helpful shout of 'leader' or 'on your right/left', and even more surprisingly, even in the heat of competition, I got quite a lot of thankyous.

The first half hour felt like an eternity, but then dropping to a pace I felt I could maintain, the next 20 minutes seemed to fly by. I was just enjoying the off-roading, the course now ingrained in my mind, I was starting to pick the lines better, and knew where to take the breathers. But the last two laps. Oh my. I had nothing, nothing left in the tank. The legs actually felt strong still, but energy had crumbled. Come the last lap I kept looking back to see if the leader was catching. The hour had been completed, so he was on his final lap, and as long as he passed me I wouldn't have to go round again. Perhaps trackstanding for a few seconds 20 yards from the finish line so he could pass was a bit obvious, but I was done.

Overall feeling? Just blinkin' brilliant. Friendly and relaxed and fun fun fun. Slithering around, getting muddy, off-roading, knowing that if anything happened you were 5 minutes walk from the start line. That middle ground between road riding and mountain biking where I think I've finally found my niche.

Lessons learned? I need better tyres, and probably CX specific wheels to take them; I need to plan food better - eating breakfast, then nothing until the burgers were finally for sale at 7 is not sensible; disc brakes are brilliant.

Overall it was nice to have it confirmed that really, truly, I have no bike-handling skillz missing for this (it's no Danny Macaskill stuff, but one-footed rear-wheel sideways skids show I've still got enough foolhardiness to attack a course); but I also realise just how much work I need to put in to get fit. The fast guys are just... Fast.... It's the fact that they can maintain that pace for so long that is impressive. I can do it in bursts, but for an hour? Well the winner lapped me 4 times (I think, it might have been three, though I think Helen Wyman went past me 3 times), including that last, wait for him to pass at the line, moment.

I also need to cut my hair. Which might sound odd, but my head was overheating, back into a long unused helmet, and pics showed my hair poking out the vents!

All that remains, apart from the training, and slight tweaks to the ride, is to see the schedule for the Scottish series in October/November, and work out two or three races that might suit me, and give it another whirl.

p.s. yes, that is me in the shot when still relatively fresh...

A Cyclocross Face
Train

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.