New signs

I like tiny Tuesday but have to miss this week, sorry Beckett, who is kindly hosting this week.

At lunch time, sitting out in the shade of a tree enjoying my sandwich ( I have forgotten what sort it was so it mustn't have been either good or bad) I looked up and saw that Dubbo has some new street signs.

Talbragar is an Aboriginal name and is a local district and street in town. I never knew what it meant before. Wiradjuri is one of the largest family groups ( Nations) and their Country stretches across a lot of the region in which I travel. The Aboriginal people have lived here for over 40,000 years which makes all other cultures young by comparison. I think this is a wonderful idea to educate us.

The streets that run perpendicular to Talbragar Street are named after the first Governors of NSW. Bligh, Macquarie, Brisbane, Darling, Gipps, Fitzroy....handy for trivial pursuit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.