Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Bad Hair Day

One of the things I don't like about our humid summers is that they give me several months of non-stop bad hair days. However, this kind of puts things into perspective! We had a bruising thunderstorm this afternoon and apparently this little hummer didn't have the sense to take shelter. Consequently, she's soaked. I am happy to report, however, that it didn't impede her ability to wage massive aerial assaults on the other hummers who ventured too near her feeder! The young titmice also didn't pay attention to their mother and you can see the results of that bad decision HERE and again HERE. Mr. P-Hummie had much more sense and came out of it all relatively unscathed, but a bit fluffy.

While I was pfaffing around the deck. the ditzy mourning doves flew out of the woods and took a seat at the patio table - odd, but they are mourning doves and not the smartest things on wings. Or so I thought until I saw THIS stalking through the back yard! I quickly made sure that Mimsy wasn't out on the patio farting around. The fox left shortly after and Mimsy came out and pretended to fire her fake peanut assault rifle at him.

And there you have it - Monday, in a nutshell (haha, get it?)

Dinner tonight is a healthy salad of farro, green beans, cannelini beans, tomatoes and parsley, accompanied by beets from my garden! And a nice savignon blanc...

Thanks so much to everyone who commented on my pair of busy bees yesterday - glad you got a chuckle out of it. And, hey, anytime I can be the reason someone snorts tea out of their nose (not to mention any names, Simple Moments), I feel that I've done a good deed! So cheers everyone - here's to Monday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.