Dowley Gap

It was a coffee morning at Jean's in Gilstead today so I set out a little early with my camera to walk to her house which is down to the Aire Valley and then up the other side.  I was accompanied by a robin for a while along the track in St Ives then after I crossed Harden Road, the lane down to Beckfoot Ford has high banks on each side and they were awash with pink wood sorrel, bluebells, ramsons, buttercups, dandelions and stitchwort.  There was so much to enjoy (and blip!) that I was going backwards and had to pick up pace the other side of the valley to avoid arriving late.

A wide range of subjects was discussed from grandchildren's university experiences to the debate over Europe, much yummy flapjack was consumed and then it was time to retrace my steps home.  My blip is taken at Dowley Gap, from the bridge over the canal with the locks in the distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.