Prickly Pear

Travelled from SanGiovanni La Punta to Capri Leone, a journey of 215 km. Our guide of yesterday, Fabio, told us that if you could drive in Sicily you could drive anywhere in Italy. I am beginning to see what he means.

We visited the Alcantara gorge on the way, with its basalt cliffs and lovely botanical gardens. Then Taormina, apparently Sicily's most popular holiday destination, with it's Greco Roman theatre with wonderful views of the coast and the Straits of Messina.

The Autoroute from Taormina was a bit hairy. Our auberge here seems quite a foodie place. We will need to do some walking to burn off the calories. It sits on the north east coast- we can see the Aeolian islands from our room here.

I am using my phone to blip - I cannot download from my big camera. I am seeing if I can do the challenges using the phone. So far, so good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.