"Love means never having to say you're sorry"

Many will think the quote was proclaimed by Snoopy and has earned a fortune for Hallmark Cards over the decades. False - Jenny says it to Preppy. in the 1970 film Love Story. This was the highlight of my miserable day along with The Thomas Crown Affair which was shown immediately after, on the same German free TV channel.

If asked to sort Love Story and The Thomas Crown Affair by date of release, I would have put Love Story first. In fact it came out two years after TTCA.

Sadly my favourite film of the period, set exactly between the two wasn't shown tonight - Butch Cassidy. Instead the channel went in to a night of documentaries on the UK, notably the royal family. However I switched off after TTCA - there is only so much of dubbed MacGraw, McQueen, O'Neal and Dunnaway a person can take on one night.

Weather was even worse than my spirits.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.