stuartjross

By stuartjross

Connel Bridge

I was working in the hills above Furnace on Loch Fyne side today. It was very, very wet. I took a few shots which successfully conveyed the misery which was the continuous rain on the site. Under foot conditions were soft and squelchy and my boots were overwhelmed with marshland water within the first steps from the car in the morning. It was one of these days which made you think about buying another lottery ticket for the weekend.
It was so wet that I feared for the safety of my mobile phone (normally secured in what is laughably called a weather proof pocket in my jacket) and left it in the car. The client's engineer was more brave and his one stopped working due to water ingress by lunchtime. His jacket is very similar to mine.

My site misery photos which show mist hanging over tree tops and obscuring the hill tracks just a hundred metres away, ditches and burns raging are probably of little interest to anyone and indeed reviewing them here makes me want to take a lemsip for the chill I still feel in my bones.

Anyway, it brightened considerably as I passed through Connel on the way home and I jumped out of the car and took this very cheap shot shot of the impressive Connel Bridge. (I mean cheap in terms of any physical effort, just ten paces from the car)

It was completed in 1903 and served initially as a railway bridge for the Oban to Ballachulish line costing a whopping £43,000. The same budget tomorrow would allow the purchase of two Trimble theodolites, but only if you can reclaim the VAT.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.