The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House

The last time I was in Sydney was 2004. I'm old.

I got a train in to the city centre and walked around the harbour to see the sights again. It's clearly very picturesque. It was also very hot, so I was trying to stay in the shade as much as possible.

I went for dinner with my godfather's daughter, Tina, and her husband Steve. I stayed with them back in 2004 and got thrown out of a pub for the first and only time of my life. I wasn't being too drunk or argumentative; I was just British and that was enough for the head bouncer (who then went on a rant about "poms"). Anyway, luckily there were no angry xenophobes around this time. I had such a lovely time catching up with them over some nice food and wine.

Sydney is pretty big and the train took me 1.5 hours to get home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.