Penistone Viaduct (without sun)!

I'm more used to travelling over this viaduct on the train than I am photographing it.  A camera club practical evening last night and one of our members suggested the bridge might look good in the evening sunshine.  In the end I was the only one that went to have a look and although the sun was on the bridge when I set off, by the time I got there all trace of it had gone.  Still an interesting walk down to the River Don and into the park.  The viaduct was the scene of a major accident when it collapsed on 2 Feb 1916.  Fortunately no one was killed as the collapse appears to have happened slowly and the driver and the fireman were able to jump clear (Wikipedia).

This view sparked a few memories of a summer sketching outing from a couple of years ago where we sat on the top of the hill that is just visible through the arch.

A Tai Chi morning and a gardening afternoon - I've got all my tomato plants in now and even had time to start weeding some of the dodgy parts of the garden (it's going to be a hard catch-up following several years of neglect).  Gardening competing with print making at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.