If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Robin at Mere Sands Wood Reserve.

I had to be down in Lancashire for a meeting starting at 10:30 so it was an early start.  Fortunately the M6 was running smoothly and the run down went easily.  After the meeting and lunch as the weather was good I decided to treat myself to a visit to the reserve which is only a few miles down the road from regional headquarters.

Being the height of the breeding season there weren't a lot of water fowl in position for good shots, so I contented myself with this shot of a Robin which had chosen to sit on one of the benches I was thinking of having a sit on to wait and see what emerged.

The highlight of the visit however I was unable to record photographically.  While in one of the hides I noticed a Tern patrolling over the mere.  Getting the binoculars on to it I realised it was a bird new to me, one I had never seen before.  As it turned (no pun intended) in the air I saw it had black under parts - not usual on a tern.  Closer examination showed it had a black head and the upper surfaces of the wings were a darker grey than I would expect on our usual terns.  Decision - Black Tern.

Black Terns are regular but not common migrants through the UK.  During the 4 years of the BTO Bird Atlas they were recorded less than 400 times.  Being from the Marsh Tern group the habitat of an inland mere wasn't too unusual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.