The flower of love

There are so many types of love aren't there? This Rose was given to me by friends on my sixtieth birthday last year. It speaks of love.

Today I have had to do things I never dreamt, imagined, desired to do, and tears are very close to the surface. One of my relatives is a very troubled young man and had been for most of his life. School was difficult. Work has been difficult. Relationships so strained. This week has been a culmination of all that with 24 hours of madness. As a result of his madness, am in despair at the convoluted way in which our police service and justice system work. I do not understand how someone can be taken to court without their family being told. I cannot see why prison is a better place than a room with a supportive family member. I struggle to find it acceptable that a prison cannot answer a phone when it's been ringing for 30 minutes or more.

I now know how to send money to a person in prison so they might be able to get a pillow and some toothpaste. I know how to send them an email. I know how to cancel a car purchase scheme and return a car. I do not want to know these things. I want him to be safe, free from his demons (which are many ), I want him to have help. I hope that all these things will happen.

If you pray, please pray for the young men struggling in these challenging times. Otherwise, just remember them occasionally and ponder on how we administer justice and punishment.

The flower of love is so beautiful and necessary.

This is my day today. So this has to be my record of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.