#dazzleship

After a haircut first thing I popped down to the docks to see the new Dazzle Ship taking shape. This is a new one on me, but having done my research I now know what "dazzle" camouflage is and I know that the painting of a number of ships in "dazzle" is part of the commemoration of the centenary of the First World War. Specifically the one in Leith Docks is associated with the centenary of the Battle of Jutland in 1916. And that it's the work of Turner Prize winner Ciara Phillips.

The other thing I will tell you is that being located where it is in the Leith Docks it's not especially easy to photograph in an effective way. I've put a detail in the extras. But photographing it from side on (as a taxi driver was doing as I went past) is not very fruitful. I'll be interested to see what they do with it afterwards to display it to better effect.

Other than that it's been write, write, write. Or try to. And mind the website I've been left in charge of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.