Meadow Saxifrage

I've felt very tired today, but still managed to catch up with some of the domestic chores that get neglected in the field season, like washing and stocking the food cupboards. I did take a couple of hours off to wander round Barnack Hills and Holes NNR, where there was a truly stunning display of Early Purple-orchids and the first Man Orchids of the season were coming into flower (see extras). But today my blip had to be the pure and simple flowers of Meadow Saxifrage. I'd sat down to photograph some Field Mouse-ear and was surprised to spot a small population of Meadow Saxifrage on the slope below me, a species I'd never seen at the reserve before. When I came home I discovered that it was recorded from the reserve between 1900 and 1955, but apparently hadn't been seen since, so potentially quite an exciting record!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.