The Kitchen Cabinet

I had every intention of studying all day today.
But first I had to go to Fat Club in Winslow, to discover I'd put on a pound. Grrrrrrr.
And obviously I can't study at a messy table, so I tidied it up first.
And the washing up needing to be done was distracting, so I did that.
And then it was lunchtime, so I made myself a delicious omelette with potatoes and peppers.
And after I'd eaten my lunch I found myself unable to get off the sofa, so I stayed there.
And then it was time to go and get the Little Misses, get their dinner sorted and wait for my dad to arrive before heading off to Woodstock to meet Mr K.
So no studying at all. 
I met Mr K at The Bear in Woodstock, having called through my dinner order when I was ten minutes away!! Steak and Dijonnaise ciabatta for me and fish and chips for Mr K. Very nice!
Then we headed into Blenheim Palace to watch the recording of Radio 4's The Kitchen Cabinet. It's not a programme I've ever heard but not one to turn down a free night out I applied for tickets a couple of weeks ago.
It's hosted by Jay Rayner, the food critic from Masterchef who I've always liked and the panel included the food historian Annie Grey, and the chefs and writers Tim Hayward, Sophie Wright and Andi Oliver.
It was very interesting - both the discussions and seeing behind the scenes at a recording. 
There was lots of talk about dinner parties and dinner party etiquette and the Blenheim Butler was there and talked a lot about his job which was really interesting having done the Downstairs tour the other day with Mrs C and seen him briefly going about his job.
The episode is broadcast on May 31st so I must try and remember to listen to it. I remember when we went to see The Now Show being recorded it was interesting to see how much they cut out!
Mr K and I disagree about the quickest way to Blenheim and it was funny to see him turn right to the A34 while I turned left to go the back way to Bicester. Annoyingly, I immediately got stuck behind the slowest, most irritating driver in the world who practically stopped to go round bends, or if another car came towards them, or if a leaf blew towards their car!!! Aaaaggghhhhhhhh, it was infuriating.
I finally overtook them at some lights in Bicester. Which would have been a dangerous manoeuvre if they hadn't pulled away at about 3mph and would clearly have taken twenty minutes to speed up to 30mph!!
As I approached the roundabout where Mr K's route and mine converged I was miffed to see him sail round in front of me!!! 
Although it was a moral victory as clearly I'd have been about five minutes ahead of him if it hadn't been for the tortoise I was stuck behind.
And it was handy too - he came into Tescos with me and filled my car up. What a lovely husband I have!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.