happyhound

By happyhound

The Shining

Come play with us...

Clever old Stephen King. He's been terrifying us all for almost forty years with his third novel The Shining, and iconic images from the film have been seared into our imaginations for almost as long.

It seemed fitting that for Film Star Friday hosted by Beewriter I should try to exactly recreate the scene where Danny, on his go kart, happens across the Grady twins in the haunted hotel. (Google 'Danny go kart Grady twins' for the image.) Let me tell you why.

The two little beauties in the pic came from Poundstretcher to live with us at Christmas, following a sustained campaign by Eldest Daughter and Overlooked Third Child. They were a little bit more than a pound, but not much. Anyway, those of you that read the ramblings words that go with my blips will recall I am somewhat of a horror film junkie. So you'll understand why I find their presence in our house somewhat sinister. Very quickly the girls felt uncomfortable with them too; they started covering their heads at night but soon they insisted on removing them from their room altogether. I'd find them at the top of the stairs, or in my room, Eldest Son would find them in the bathroom, soon he could no longer go to bed without an adult accompanying him up the stairs...
Mr HH started tripping over them, each time exclaiming "those bloody dolls!!" and my heart would skip a beat as I knew that they were listening.

So here they are fulfilling their destiny as terrifying apparitions. I hope it gets it out of their systems...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.