Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Salena Godden

After my recent encounter with poets Hollie McNish and Linton Kwesi Johnson I was in the mood for more poetry tonight. So, where better to go than another Writing on the Wall event?

Tonight's bill featured some young poets from Liverpool, including Amina and Blue Saint, who are definitely going places. Also on the bill were the Ranting Poets, Tim Wells and Ginger John.

But my principal reason for being there was to see the amazing Salena Godden. This woman is a force of nature and she practically blew the roof off with her performance! My only complaint was that she didn't have longer to do her thing. I'd have happily watched/listened to her for the full 2 hours!

I had a chat with her afterwards and not only was she game for a photo but she also signed my copy of her memoir, 'Springfield Road', which I was chuffed about. I certainly recommend seeing her if she's ever in your neck of the woods.

This clip of her performing her poem 'I Count' www.youtube.com/watch?v=8gpZ-B3nCz4 is dedicated to Kendall ( www.blipfoto.com/entry/2180123703445030005 ) in the hope that it helps relieve her of her migraine...

And here's Salena hamming it up for the camera over a rendition of 'Old Blood, Young Teeth' www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGa36G_ZPq8

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.