Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Fascia is on!

Finished installing my fascia today. It is 1/8" Masonite. Easy to cut. Finally no more blue showing. I will eventually paint the fascia and the shelf below either a dark brown or perhaps a satin black. I saw several layouts that used a black fascia and it really improved the look. I have the brown paint from the Sn3 layout so maybe a coat of that first. But no hurry.

I do have some gaps between the fascia and styrofoam. Easy enough to fill with a little sculptamold, paint, and ground cover.

I also was going to blip a shot of my progress ballasting the track, so will include as an extra instead since my main computer is acting weird and is in the shop. Probably time for a new one. The ballasting is complete other than some touch ups on the main line. All of the sidings have the inner ballast (between the rails) done and many of the sides as well. I used Arizona Stone UP ballast for the main and DRGW for the sidings. The UP owns the main but the DRGW owns the sidings and branch line. The tracks in the locomotive facility is ballasted with a yard mix that represents cinders. I do have some touch up work where the ballast left holes thanks to my heavy handed gluing, but no problem to fix. The ballast is N scale - more like dust/tiny bits. But once soaked with glue it is like rock.

Whoops - Blip won't let me add a photo. Rats

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.