The Boy from Syracuse

I am continuing with phone challenge blips.

I don't usually engage with Flower Friday, as I am not often near flowers during the working week - not with a decent camera anyway. But I've had a go today.

Top left has a backdrop of a Roman amphitheater. Middle left are flowers be-decking lots of the small roadside trees here - oleanders ? Middle right and bottom left are wild plants growing on the castle walls at Ortigia, which is the island connected to the main town by bridges ( and the most beautiful part of Siracusa). Bottom right are roses placed in front of a silver altar to St Lucia, in the duomo - she is Siracusa's patron saint. And top right is part of the tee-shirt J happened (by complete coincidence) to be wearing. It includes a small piece of glass. Fitted the bill perfectly.

And for today, I am the boy from Syracuse - almost the name of the film adaptation of the Rogers and Hart musical. Syracuse is the old name for this 27 centuries old town, founded by the Corinthians and the home of Archimedes. No tulips here, but I am sure these flowers will do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.