Painting with Light

I have been into London today to visit the Tate Britain Gallery, primarily to see the Painting with Light exhibition.  This has been superbly curated and shows how artists and photographers, and some writers, have worked together in their different forms of art.  I then went into the Conceptual Art in Britain exhibition which ranged from 'Really???' to 'Wow, that is so clever!'; three sequences of photographs were just amazing and I will have a go at emulating these some time. No photography in these galleries of course so you will have to look these up on line if you are interested.

I am fascinated by the stair well which leads up to the special exhibitions level and spent some time there.  I have attempted to put three images together of one guy going up stairs - I think with a bit more time in Photoshop this could work better but it is tricky to line up the sequence and keep things in proportion.

There is good wifi in the Tate and several people were taking advantage of this with their laptops.  I loved the sets of legs sticking out from the alcoves and waited for a suitable visitor to complete the leg line up - added as one extra.

In the very large hall downstairs there were some painted backdrops and some dancers performing - very strange choreography.  Quite a few people stopped to watch, while others just passed through as if they weren't there.  I loved the woman in a second extra who was completely oblivious to what was happening right beside her - the dancers took no notice of anyone else either.

I began to feel a bit hungry - looked at my watch and it was 3 o'clock! Since breakfast must have been at about 8 am, it was no wonder the tummy was rumbling a bit.  Time to head for home anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.