Life. Through my lens.

By CMOS

Batteries.

Are rechargeable batteries really worth it? I've never bothered to sit down and do the math. They are convenient, but are they as convenient as picking up some batteries in the store and chucking them away when you are done? I like the idea of just recharging and away I go again but in reality I find sometimes I use some items so infrequently that I have a bunch of rechargeable batteries charged up and waiting to be used next and by the time I have used up the power in the device, the rechargeables waiting in line have not only lost their charge but they are dead and can't be charged because they were left for too long without a charge. That's just annoying. Almost as annoying as just wasting energy by topping them up every so often in the remote chance I might need them soon. The shelf life of the non rechargeables is a bonus. They make a good standby. Maybe the strategy is, have rechargeables in the device with one set of non rechargeables as the backup. That way if you get caught out you can use the non regargeables and if you don't get caught out when you need it you can just recharge the rechargeables!! Yeah!! Thanks, that's that sorted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.