jiana

By jiana

Most popular sight seeing spot in Japan

According to Tripadvisor, Fushimiinari Shrine is the most popular sight seeing spot in Japan for foreign tourists.

Today, I saw a arowd of large people gathered there.
Some of them have learned how to behave in Shinto shrine and put into practice what they have learned.

When walking through under the Torii gate, we should not walk at the center of road. Before praying, we should wash our hand and rinse our mouth to purify ourselves. When praying, we should clap our hands.  To see their attitude respect Shinto is delightful. But, to tell the truth I felt discomfort in my stomach.

When I was a little child, I hate and was scared the fox of Inari Shrine. For me, fox was a symbol of possession. The slanted eyes of the fox scared me. When I have grown, I knew that the Inari Shrine is the God of commerce and the fox is the messenger of God. But the foreign tourists might understand this feeling or not, I wonder.

Added, I saw many young foreign girls wore Japanese Kimono. To see them is delightful, but from Japanese point of view, their wearing style looks a little odd to me. Long sleaves Kimono is the formal dress for a young lady. Narrow sash belt is for daily kimono. The combination of long sleaves kimono and narrow sash belt is unacceptable for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.