La vida de Annie

By Annie

Prarmani

I was complaining to my friend yesterday that not one of my extended family had responded to my sharing, in an online media group a month ago, my fundraising ad, with a request for support, however small (most of them are well-off, after all). I know they had all read it, thanks to modern technology. When I got back to Liverpool last week I mentioned this to #2S, who promptly repeated the request, knowing he wouldn't be snubbed this way. Immediately 5 of the 20 in the group responded with good luck messages but no cash offers. I know they're in-laws not blood relatives, but I have known them for 40 years or their whole lives, whichever is the greater. My friend gave me some horror stories of her own family, and I thought I'd let it go, dismissing them as just tightwads. This morning something happened which made me realise it still rankled, however. I was going through a box of random things, photos and such, and found a handmade card the girls sent their granddad (my father-in-law) thanking him for sponsoring them in the Race for Life . The card must have found its way back with other stuff when the house was cleared after he died. It reminded me that he was a most generous and caring person who would help anybody, and that made the indifference of his family all the more upsetting. Restless at being in the house on my own I decided to go out for some fresh air and some much-needed exercise before Sunday. Of course it was grey and wet, so I hopped on a train (Senior Citizen passes are great) into town. The rain was torrential so I went straight to #1D's coffee shop just by the station, where I received TLC in the shape of food and a series of hot drinks and an English newspaper - quite a treat until I saw the doom and gloom within.
My tiny wobbly brolly not being up to the task, I decided my project for the day was to get a light weatherproof coat, which it seems I'll also need for Sunday's event. I accomplished this at a decent shop, not the Primark pictured, which I only entered to test my endurance levels - bright lights, loud noise, being jostled by rude people in slippers and curlers, etc etc. Failed of course, so returned home nursing a swollen ankle which has been getting progressively worse all week. It happens occasionally with the leg containing all the metalwork, but this is pretty bad timing and made me feel even more down.
Then a strange thing happened. Out of the blue I started to get donations on the JustGiving site - anonymous or people I don't know well. I suspect my Dad-in-law had some hand in it from beyond the veil. He always did have a kind heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.