Going abroad

These guys are heading to France, possibly to see Veronica. France was visible from where I took this so I gave a little wave to friends in Europe.

I was down here after doing the final tutorial of this academic year - didn't do the full two hours as there was only one student and he had as much as he needed once we covered a couple of bits and bobs. From Canterbury I went to Manston. Famous - to guys of my generation at least - as a fighter base during the Second World War. It was also where aircraft testing Barnes Wallis' bouncing bomb were stationed, tests were conducted off the coast at Reculver. I went over there because the airfield has struggled in the 21st C and is likely to be given over to housing soon.

Then along the coast to Dover, where I took this shot, and home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.