Knapweed Bell

I'm getting interested in moths, I thought they were boring but I'm fascinated by their Persian rug markings when viewed close. I spotted this micro moth on knapweed in the rain this afternoon. At first glance it looks a bit like a bird dropping but get in and those black, grey, white and russet scales are fascinating. They almost make my image look pixelated.

I had an enjoyable mini-meet with my daughter in our S2000s and came home intent on capturing my chiff-chaff to show its supercilium, the stripe over its eye. It had suddenly occurred to me that the word sounds very similar to supercilious. Sure enough the words are from the same root, the Latin for eyebrow.  The word supercilious comes from the way haughty people raise their eyebrows. I've added my friendly chiff-chaff to extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.