Big East Triathlon

When I arrived at Stow Maries Great War Aerodrome for Wings and Wheels I was turned away as the event was full. :( 

Never mind, I continued into deepest Dengie and headed for Bradwell where the Big East Triathlon was taking place. I photographed the superfit runners as they passed the RAF Bradwell Bay war memorial and St. Peter's Chapel. They then headed along the sea wall by the beautiful, deserted, cockle-spit beach. I really enjoyed capturing them in the lovely sunshine. I'm sure they were grateful for the sea breeze.

Today's poem is The Rain by Robert Creeley. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/42837

It's late and I haven't read the poem properly. I've read the accompanying notes quickly. Creeley says the poem is melded with the experience of the reassuring sound of rain on the corrugated roof of his house in Guatemala. One can listen to YouTube vids of this sound to help one to sleep. I noticed in the paper this morning that it looks like Sarah Raven's garden at Chelsea has a structure with a corrugated iron roof. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.